Safe from the storm

Standard

Did you see the sky today?

I walked out and saw the clouds. They were in a strange shape…they looked like the feathers of a bird, and just like that I felt my stomach drop, and watched the ground fall beneath my feet.

I was a bird flying through the air. I felt the air on my face, and I flew to the sea. I watched the fish swimming, the boats powering by, and the families laughing with each other.

As I flew past the sea I saw the sky change from blue to orange.

Then I saw it. The Sun.

I’ve seen the Sun several times, but this time it looked almost indescribably different, and for the first time I felt the Wind push me towards it.

The clouds had almost covered it, but left enough space for the Sun to peak out. Can you imagine it? It was like an eye was watching me. I blinked in its gaze and flew away in fear. I thought It to be a danger, and it seemed like the Wind was pushing against me as I flew away.

As I flew from the Sun I saw the sky turn a light green, the winds grew stronger and it started to rain. It was beautiful at first, but as it grew stronger it’s painful bite began to rip at my wings and I fell.

I couldn’t see. Fear set in, and I tried to fly back to the Sun, but I could no longer see it. It was there you must understand, but I was so blinded by my fear and my circumstance that I could not see it. The Wind seemed to be pushing me in several directions. I gave up trying fly on my own and let the Wind carry me. It carried me to the only Refuge I knew. The Mountain. The only strong Mountain. The Mountain that could be seen throughout the whole world.

I hid from the storm in the crevices of the Mountain.

Then I saw It. The Sun…the bright Sun shining and breaking through the dark clouds.

A joy came over me that I could not understand. I was safe. Safe from the storm with the Mountain, the Sun, and the Wind by my side.

Sarah Skepple

Would you mind reading this poem again? What if I asked you to replace the Wind with the Holy Spirit? How about replacing the Sun with…the Son? Our dear Savior Jesus Christ. And what if I asked you to replace the Mountain with the Father? Would it make more sense to you? Allow me to give you a front row seat to this amazing life that God gave to me…and this Walk that He planned for me before time began:

I was/am so blessed to have grown up in a Christian home with a pastor for a father, and a mother who was and is still my father’s helpmate who’s character is that of a Biblical woman of God . Both were and are exemplary examples of what it means to be a Christian, but that did not make me a Christian…

“I’ve seen the Sun several times, but this time it looked almost indescribably different, and for the first time I felt the Wind push me towards it.” -Growing up in a Christian home I was exposed to Jesus and all that He did for us several times. I knew the right answers, and I believed because of my parents I was a Christian as well. But God in His mercy showed me that it was more than that, and He answered the prayers of my parents, and He saved me. The moment I was saved I viewed Jesus so indescribably different. Can I ask how many times you see the Wind in this poem? “I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may be with you forever;” John 14:6. As Jesus promised in John, God sent the Helper to us, to be with us always and forever. “In the same way the Spirit also helps our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words;” Romans 8:26. When I don’t know what to say to the Father, or where to go, the Holy Spirit does.

“The clouds had almost covered it, but left enough space for the Sun to peak out. Can you imagine it? It was like an eye was watching me. I blinked in its gaze and flew away in fear. I thought It to be a danger, and it seemed like the Wind was pushing against me, as I flew away.” -There have been so many times that I have tried to run from God for several reasons: I don’t understand why I’m going through something, I don’t trust Him, or I want to go my own way. So instead of Christ being a Savior for me, He instead looks like a danger to me. Do you realize that “winds” here is un-capitalized? These winds are not the Wind meaning the Holy Spirit, these are the winds of deceit sent by the deciever. The Holy Spirit will never lead you away from God.

“As I flew from the Sun I saw the sky turn a light green, the winds grew stronger and it started to rain. It was beautiful at first, but as it grew stronger it’s painful bite began to rip at my wings and I fell.” -The minute I run from God is when the flesh, satan, and the world attack. Whatever I am running from God towards seems really great at first, but then when I get there I realize it is not what I expecting and how wrong I was to even try and run from God. “Be of sober spirit, be on the alert your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour, but resist him firm in your faith…” 1 Peter 5:8-9a

“I couldn’t see. Fear set in, and I tried to fly back to the Sun, but I could no longer see it. It was there, you must understand, but I was so blinded by my fear and my situation that I could not see it. The Wind seemed to be flying in several directions. I gave up trying to fly on my own and let the Wind carry me. It carried me to the only Refuge I knew. The Mountain. The only Strong Mountain. The Mountain that could be seen throughout the whole world.” -This is the time I start to panic and fear that I am too far from God for Him to reach me. But Jesus said He would be with us always. “…teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Matthew 28:20. Even though at times it seems He was not there, He actually was…the whole time. As fear continues to grip my understanding I finally come to the point where I realize I cannot do it on my own, and I need God’s help to bring me out of the mess I put myself into.

“I hid from the storm in the crevices of the Mountain.” “Be still under the mighty hand of God that He may exalt you at the proper time, casting all your anxiety upon Him, because He cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:6-7. Praise God for His unending grace and mercy, especially during the times when I try to run away from Him! I can come before Him and pray, and He will always have open arms to welcome me back to Him! “A mighty Fortress is our God!”

“Then I saw It. The Sun…the bright Sun shining and breaking through the dark clouds.” -Once God has brought me out of the situation I was in, I see and understand that He was with me always. I may let go of Him, but He never let of me…and He never will. What an encouraging thought! When we see the dark clouds, the thunder, lighting, and rain fall down we have to remember that the Sun is still shining behind the clouds. It is always there! “I will never leave you, nor will I forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5b.

“A joy came over me that I could not understand. I was safe. Safe from the storm with the Mountain, the Sun, and the Wind by my side.” -The joy that comes into my heart when I am reconciled with God is indescribable. It makes me never want to run from Him again. Unfortunately I still do at times, but as we get closer and closer to the Day of Jesus’ return I have hope in that Day that I will run towards Him forever!

Sarah Skepple

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “Safe from the storm

    • Thank you! I do completely understand what you’re saying, and actually most of my poems (with the exception of this one and one other) are regular poems with no religious connotations. This one was made specifically to help others understand my Walk with Christ. Thank you for your honest opinion, I very much appreciate it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

