The Power in the Word of God

Standard

As many may know, although some may not know, I worked at the greatest camp on the planet for the summer called Camp All American in Johns Creek, Ga. One of the many reasons it is so great is because we are constantly being subjected to the Words of God.

I woke up on July 31st thinking I was fully ready and prepared for the day ahead, but I wasn’t. How can any Christian, striving to follow Christ, feel confident about any day without it beginning (or ending) in the reading/studying of God’s Word and prayer? I must say dear friends, that I have tried too often to begin (or end) my day without these two important factors.

That day had major significance because it was the last day of camp…the last day to show children God’s love show them that reading of the Word and prayer is the most vital and important part of every day, but unfortunately I was about to come in without it. That morning I had a little extra time to myself, and instead of picking a filter for a new picture I wanted to post, I opened my Bible.

An instant chill went through me and a smile came across my face. I had turned to Matthew 6. It’s so beautiful just reading the Words of God. “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work. (2 Timothy 3:16)”

“God-breathed.”

Meaning God’s breath. His Words. I have been a Christian, by God’s mercy, for many years. My parents made me and my siblings memorize and recite 2 Timothy 3:16 every Friday for family devotions. I have known these words to be true for so long, but it wasn’t until that time that I truly understood His words.

Matthew 6 is one of my favorite chapters of the Bible because Jesus is giving us so many rules (yes, I just said rules) and choices we need to make for every part of our life: Prayer, wealth, fasting, everything we as Christians need to live a godly life. Why I choose to go some days without reading it is beyond me.

What is your reason?

Sarah Skepple

Matthew 6:30-33 “But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the furnace, will He not much more cloth you? You of little faith! Do not worry then, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

Leave a Reply

