I see you in him: A letter to the woman I never met

Standard

I used to daydream about meeting you for the first time.

What would you be like? Are you funny? Kinda serious? Anything like my own wonderful mother?

…most importantly, would you like me?

Whenever I thought of the future husband of my life I thought about his mother and I used to get nervous thinking that you would find me annoying.

The possibility never occurred to me that I would never meet you.

So many times I thought about how we could get to know each other and the advice I would seek from you about your son, but I can’t. What am I to do without you here? But I don’t even know you.

I don’t even know you, but just a glimpse of your smile in his.

I don’t even know you, but just a shadow of your kindness in his actions.

I don’t even know you, but just a snapshot of your love for the Lord in his heart.

I don’t even know you, but just a glance of you in your loving and kind family.

Dear Mrs. Carol,

I think of you often, and how I wish I had known you before you passed away. At this moment I know you are with our Father in Heaven, celebrating and worshiping our Savior. I wish I had the chance to meet you, and although I won’t have that chance here, I’ll have that chance There. I can see you in your family, and in the way they love and care for each other and for others. I see you in your son. He talks of you often. He loves you. He misses you. Thank you for helping raise a man of God.

To the woman I never met, I look forward to the Day I can meet you for the first time face to face.

Sarah Skepple

 

 

Leave a Reply

